WONDERS in my own back yard


                    “The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting                                for our senses to grow sharper”

W.B Yeats

Mighty Niagara

                                                                Mighty Niagara

How often has it happened to you…you have a wondrous, magical, incredible tourist destination in your own back yard…and you almost never go there? Or you long to see some other place completely forgetting that there are a million beauties right at home that you’ve never really seen?

I live not very far from one of the wonders of the world – Niagara Falls – and seen from either side of the border, it’s a majestic sight indeed. Day or night, just the sound of the water thundering over the escarpment and on to the rocks below makes one’s heart beat a little faster. Standing on a lookout that sticks right out over the river or riding the Maid of the Mist to get close, you get drenched with the heavy mist. You have to photograph through a plastic bag or be constantly wiping your camera lens. It’s an inspiring and almost overwhelming experience.

And yet, in truth, I have only been to Niagara Falls a few times – and that is only when out of state company comes to visit and they want to see what I take for granted. Each time I go, I see this wonder through new eyes – theirs – and discover something new…a reminder to me not to overlook the magical and wondrous sights right in my own back yard.

~

~

~

You can browse my entire portfolio or purchase a print at:

http://lianne-schneider.artistwebsites.com

mightyniagarabuy

 

 

18 thoughts on “WONDERS in my own back yard

  1. Thank you for reblogging my post about my song for West Virginia. I have enjoyed browsing your blog; I think we’re probably kindred spirits. I have a song about Niagara Falls, too. Would love to send you a CD.

    • It’s lovely to encounter a kindred spirit and your song made me think the same thing. I would love to hear your songs – is there some way to send an mp3 file?

  2. Wonderfully said Lianne! It is so easy to ignore that which is close at home, in search of wonders elsewhere. Sometimes they are in our own backyard if we only take the time to look 🙂

    • Thanks so very much James – it’s a shame one has to grow older before one learns these important lessons! At least that was the case for me!

  3. Your love of writing is showing, such beautiful care in finding the right words.

    When I lived in New York, I thought I’d wait for family to visit to go see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. They didn’t, so I didn’t. Sad, that. Thanks for the reminder to be present to the beauty and bounty that surrounds us and to welcome it.

    • What an absolutely lovely thing to say James – I do rather like to write and always considered that my gift rather than art. It was poetry that drew me back into the creative mode after many years of letting it all lie dormant. Now the art is an equal voice but I still do love to write when I can. Thank you so much!

  4. This is typical Lianne….for years I never quite made it to the beach….but I changed all of that a few years ago and make a point to go often…it’s a beautiful world and that includes my own backyard. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this and beautiful art too!

    • Thanks so much Sharon and for the reblog too! Yes, it’s human nature I guess to overlook what is closest to you! And I admit the Falls get pretty crowded – it’s been so commercialized. But it’s still worth the visit…and more often than I go

Comments are closed.