Take me home…COUNTRY Roads


“Country roads, take me home to the place I belong.
West Virginia, mountain momma, take me home, country roads.”

John Denver, lyrics by Bill DanoffJohn Denver and Taffy Nivert.

Whether it is the rolling hills of Western New York, the wide farmlands of Ohio and Pennsylvania or the hilly scrabble of West Virginia, one cannot hear the phrase “country roads” without thinking of John Denver’s haunting and memorable hit – Take Me Home, Country Roads.” The catchy tune and and poignant lyrics was a huge hit in 1971 and was ultimately played at the funeral of West Virginia Senator Robert Byrd.

For me the song just takes me back to solitary drives along the country roads of my beloved western New York farmlands, sometimes stopping to walk up a creek to a small waterfall or step into a field full of wildflowers, hopefully camera in hand. But I’ve driven through West Virginia too, and I have to be honest and say that there are few places in the country as lovely and unspoiled as the mountains of West Virginia where Appalachian life still finds a home and people still sit on the front porch playing a fiddle when the family and friends get together.

~

~

~

You can browse my full portfolio or purchase a print of Take Me Home at my website”

http://lianne-schneider.artistwebsites.com

Take Me Home digital painting by Lianne Schneider buy

 

19 thoughts on “Take me home…COUNTRY Roads

  1. Reblogged this on Jo Ann Tomaselli ~ Visual & Verbal Reflections and commented:
    I love synchronicity! I’ve come across your post Lianne as I’m listening to a John Denver song 🙂 Many years ago I had the privilege to do stage lighting for one of his shows. The conversation at dinner afterward was warm, humorous and easy. He was the most amazing human being! Thanks for the memories!

  2. Lianne, living in West Virginia, this post really resonates with me. Makes it all the more poignant that so many areas in this state are being desecrated by mountaintop removal.
    Beautiful artwork, of course!!

    • You live in a beautiful state Julia – And I’ve been devastated by the terrible destruction going on in WVA. Just tragic. But thank you for your lovely comment too!

Comments are closed.