D-DAY…we must always remember


 “Soldiers, sailors and airmen…The hopes and prayers of liberty-loving peoples everywhere march with you”               General Dwight D. Eisenhower, D-Day message

I watched a young man on the news last night, in Normandy with his great grandfather, overlooking the wide open beach and the impossibly rugged, tall cliffs of the Normandy coast, saying honestly, “I can’t imagine putting my life on the line to cross that beach under heavy fire…I don’t think many of us can.” And yet, if we can’t imagine it, how are we to remember it and to honor the courage and the sacrifice of the thousands who gave their lives for our freedom? I remember as a teenager watching in awe and respect as the Cornelius Ryan book, The Longest Day, came to life on the “big screen.”

The complexity of the operation, the sheer logistical nightmare that it was, the impossible odds of making it across the beach or up those cliffs was almost overwhelming. In 1998, I was overcome by emotion and watched the first half hour of Saving Private Ryan with my hands covering my eyes and tears running down my face, as the reality of D-Day, raw and far too real, pounded my senses so that I could almost smell the fear, and the blood, of those who were part of the D-Day invasion. Over 40% of those who disembarked on the beach on June 6, 1944, died under the never ending hail of fire that peppered the beach or picked off individual men as they struggled up over the cliffs. I sat enthralled and so awed through the 10 hours of Band of Brothers which Tom Hanks and Stephen Spielburg produced after Hanks had starred in Saving Private Ryan.

Seventy years after that day, I can stand in freedom and put my hand over my heart to salute a flag stained by the blood of heroes…and pray that the world, which has too often forgotten the lessons of war, might remember this sacrifice too and work for the peace so hard won, in good part because of those who died in Normandy 70 years ago.

~

~

~

You can see my full portfolio at http://lianne-schneider.artistwebsites.com

Eternal Father Strong to Save digital painting by Lianne Schneider buy now

13 thoughts on “D-DAY…we must always remember

  1. Lianne, thanks for remembering and for sharing your wonderful art and words. The school I attended, situated just outside a small seaside town in the east of England, was evacuated during the war and became a military planning facility. There is a plaque in the archway when you enter that proclaims that the D-Day landings were planned there. There are some stunning grounds surrounding the school buildings, and hidden away under some trees is “the Sunken Garden” – which, we were told, was turned into a large “sandpit” where plans could be drawn and erased.

    • What an incredible piece of information Julia and what fabulous thing to know. It must make you feel as if you are really a part of that history. I can’t even begin to imagine how complex the planning had to have been. Nor can I really conceive of the kind of courage it took to walk into deadly fire knowing that your odds of surviving were probably less than 50-50. Any more than I can imagine how British airmen climbed into those death traps every day for years with casualty rates of more than 80%. Do you think that kind of will and courage still exists today?

  2. We belong to the 8th Air Force Historical society, and have heard varies speakers who took part in D-Day. It was an amazing operation. My dad was in the 8th Air Force serving in England at the time. If you are interested in WWII history, we have another good friend, Paul Wagner, who was a bomber pilot who flew many bombing missions in Germany. He wrote a book about his joining the service and the various missions called “The Youngest Crew”. It is really a very good book. You can get it on Amazon.

    • I’m a former school teacher with an undergrad degree in history/social sciences so I’m avidly interested in anything like this. I thank you for your recommendation and I have put the book on my wish list to purchase when I get back from surgery/rehab. I really appreciate your wonderful contributions Timothy.

Comments are closed.